Bank holiday alert! Banks to remain closed for 12 days in September


New Delhi: If you are planning to visit bank branches in September then here is an important update for you. Banks will remain shut for 12 days in various cities. If you have any urgent or important pending bank work then it is possible that you have to postpone the visit, so plan accordingly

According to the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) notification, public and private banking operations will remain closed for a total of 12 days in the month of September, including second Saturdays and Sundays.

As per the RBI, guidelines mention that the public sector, private sector, foreign banks, cooperative banks, and regional banks across the country will stay closed on various mentioned dates. The official RBI bank holiday will start from September 8 and overall holidays, however, will begin on September 5 i.e the first Sunday of the month.

Here is the complete list of bank holidays in September 2021:

September 5 – Sunday
September 8 – Tithi of Srimanta Sankardeva – (Guwahati)
September 9 – Teej (Haritalika) – (Gangtok)
September 10 – Ganesh Chaturthi/Samvatsari (Chaturthi Paksha)/Vinayakar Chathurthi/Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata – (Ahmedabad, Belapur, Bengaluru, Bhubaneswar, Chennai, Hyderabad, Mumbai, Nagpur, Panaji)
September 11 – Second Saturday / Ganesh Chaturthi (2nd day) – (Panaji)
September 12 – Sunday
September 17 – Karma Puja – (Ranchi)
September 19 – Sunday
September 20 – Indrajatra – (Gangtok)
September 21 – Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Day – (Kochi and Thiruvananthapuram)
September 25 – Fourth Saturday
September 26 – Sunday