IPL Auction 2021 Updates: Rajasthan Royals releases Steve Smith, Kings XI Punjab bids farwell to Glenn Maxwell


New Delhi: With the mini-auction ahead of the 14th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) inching closer, franchises looking to retain players must complete the process.

Indian players who don’t have a contract and wish to be a part of the auction will need to fill the player auction agreement and submit it online on February 4 by 5 pm. The originals can be sent by post till February 12.


# After quite a few rounds of discussion, Rajasthan Royals have decided to release skipper Steve Smith going into the mini-auction ahead of the 14th edition of the Indian Premier League.

# The Kings started the day with a small purse but by releasing Kedar, Vijay, and Chawla – they now have a purse of 22.7 crores in their pocket.

# Amid much speculation, Chennai Super Kings veteran star Suresh Raina has been retained by the side. According to Cricinfo, Piyush Chawla, Kadar Jadhav have also been retained.

# Harbhajan Singh’s contract with the Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise Chennai Super Kings (CSK) has come to an end and the India spinner on Wednesday wished the IPL team all the best. Harbhajan said playing for CSK was a “great experience” and he made beautiful memories which he will remember fondly.

Delhi Capitals DC

DC Retained –

Marcus Stoinis – 4.8 Cr

DC Trade

DC Released

Jason Roy – 1.5 Cr
lex Carey –
Sandeep Lamichhane –
Mohit Sharma –
Daniel Sams –
Kings XI Punjab KXIP

KXIP Retained

KL Rahul

KXIP Trade

KXIP Released

Glenn Maxwell
Sheldon Cottrell
K Gowtham
Mueeb ur Rahman
Jimmy Neesham
Kolkata Knight Riders KKR

KKR Retained

Eoin Morgan – 5.2 Cr

KKR Trade

KKR Released

Tom Banton – 1Cr
Chris Green – 20L
Siddesh Lad – 20L
Nikhil Naik –
M Siddarth –
Royal Challengers Bangalore RCB

RCB Retained –

Virat Kohli – 17 Cr
AB DE Villiers – 11 Cr
Yuzvendra Chahal – 6 Cr
Devdutt Padikkal – 20 Cr
Washington Sundar – 3.2 Cr
Mohammed Siraj – 2.6 Cr
Naveep Saini – 3 Cr
Adam Zampa – 4 Cr
Shahbaz Ahmed
Josh Philippe
Kane Richardson
Pawan Deshpande

RCB Trade
Daniel Sams – (DC)