Bihar Elections 2020: Fate of these political giants is at stake during first phase of voting


Patna: The first phase of the Bihar assembly elections started on Wednesday.

The voting process is being held in 71 assembly constituencies of Bihar. There are many high profile seats among these 71. In some seats, the dignity of the ministers is at stake, while some seats have become high profile as famous faces are among the candidates.

BJP candidate Shreyasi Singh, who won a gold medal in shooting at the Commonwealth Games, is contesting from Jamui. She is contesting against Vijay Prakash of the  RJD. Vijay Prakash is the brother of former Union minister Jayaprakash Narayan Yadav, who is considered to be close to Lalu Prasad Yadav.

Divya Prakash, daughter of Jai Prakash Narayan Yadav, is contesting from Tarapur seat. Six members from the state cabinet are contesting in the first phase of the Bihar assembly elections.

They include Prem Kumar from Gaya City, Vijay Kumar Sinha from Lakhisarai, Ram Narayan Mandal from Banka, Krishnanandan Prasad Verma from Jehanabad, Jaikumar Singh from Dinara, Santosh Kumar Nirala from Rajpur.

First stage high profile candidates and seats

Gaya City – Prem Kumar

Lakhisarai – Vijay Kumar Sinha

Banka – Ram Narayan Mandal

Jehanabad – Krishnanandan Prasad Verma

Dinara – Jaikumar Singh

Rajpur – Santosh Kumar Nirala

A total of 1066 candidates are trying their luck during the first phase. Of these, 952 candidates are male while 114 are female.

Of the candidates in the fray in the first phase, 375 are millionaires. That is, every third candidate is a millionaire. The RJD boasts the highest number of millionaires. Of the 41 candidates fielded by the RJD in the first phase, has 39 are millionaires. Anant Singh is the richest candidate. He has assets of more than 68 crores.

A total of two crore 14 lakh six thousand 96 voters are scheduled to cast their votes during the first phase. In the first phase, 375

The main contest is expected to be between the ruling NDA and the UPA. Although some parties have moved here and there. This time the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) is not part of the NDA.

The JDU and the BJP are contesting the elections in alliance with smaller parties.