IPL 2020: Rajasthan Royals aim to wash away 9 years of disappointment


Dubai: Having tasted almost a decade of near continuous disappointment following their title-winning campaign in the inaugural season, Rajasthan Royals will aim to recreate the magic of 2008 when they take the field for the 2020 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Rajasthan Royals was at the second bottom spot in the points table last year. The Royals won the inaugural edition of the IPL in 2008 under the captaincy of Australian legend Shane Warne.

But the team has struggled to replicate those performances ever since, and have barely been able to claim a place in the play-off rounds. Out of the nine seasons after 2008, the team was successful at entering the IPL play-offs only three times.

In the last IPL season, the team won only 5 matches out of 14. The Royals lost 8 of those matches, while one match ended with no result.

After a series of poor performances last year, the team management replaced Ajinkya Rahane as captain in the middle of the season and Steve Smith was handed the responsibility of leading the team.

Out of 147 matches played by the Rajasthan Royals over the 12 IPL seasons, they have won 75 and lost 70 with two contests ending in no results.

It will be interesting to see how the Royals will perform under Steve Smith’s captaincy. Will the Royals be able to rewrite history for and win the IPL crown for a second time.