Delhi Assembly poll results: AAP leading in 57 seats, BJP in 13 seats


New Delhi, The Aam Aadmi Party is leading in 57 seats while the BJP is leading in 13 seats in Delhi, polls for which were held on February 8, according to early trends by the Election Commission on Tuesday.

According to the EC’s website, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal is leading from his New Delhi constituency.

Kejriwal reached his party office as the counting got underway.

Counting centres are spread across 21 locations, spanning 70 constituencies.

The counting for New Delhi seat is taking place at Gol Market.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal is leading in his New Delhi constituency, while his deputy Manish Sisodia is trailing behind BJP candidate Ravinder Singh Negi.

According to poll trends by the Election Commission, the chief minister is leading by over 6,300 votes while Sisodia is trailing by 754 votes from Patparganj constituency.

Transport Minister Kailash Gahlot is leading by 1,115 votes from Najafgarh constituency and BJP’s Ajeet Singh Kharkhari is leading.

Health Minister Satyendar Jain is leading by 309 votes in Shakarpur constituency and BJP’s S C Vats was second.

Labour Minister Gopal Rai and Food and Civil Supplies Minister Imran Hussain are  leading from Babarpur and Ballimaran constituencies respectively.

According to the EC website, the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is leading in 57 seats, while the BJP is ahead in 13.

In the 2015 assembly elections, the AAP had registered a thumping victory by winning 67 seats in the 70-member Delhi Assembly.

The counting for the 70 assembly seats is underway in Delhi.

In 2015, Kejriwal won a resounding victory in Delhi elections, winning 67 out of the 70 seats.

Counting centres are located across 11 districts, including at CWG Sports Complex in east Delhi, NSIT Dwarka in west Delhi, Meerabai Institute of Technology and G B Pant Institute of Technology in southeast Delhi, Sir CV Raman ITI, Dheerpur in central Delhi, and Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Bawana in north Delhi.

The Assembly elections were held on Saturday last. A total of 672 candidates including 593 men and 79 women contested the polls.