10 Groups of Secretaries working on finalising 100-day agenda for new government


New Delhi: Even as the polling continues in different parts of the country for the Lok Sabha, 10 different groups of secretaries are working to finalise the 100-day agenda for the new government to be formed after the June 4 results.

10 different sectoral groups of secretaries of the Narendra Modi government are working on important decisions and projects that have to be finalised at the proposed first meeting of the Council of Ministers to take place after government formation, government sources told ANI.

“The meetings of the different group of secretaries are taking place, including important ministries like Agriculture, Finance, External Affairs, Defence and other ministries, to finalise the agenda for the government,” they said.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has expressed confidence that he would form the government for the third time and would be taking bigger decisions for the welfare if the country and people.

The Ministries and Secretaries involved in these groups have given different inputs for the government agenda for both external and internal plans of actions for the government, the sources said.

The Narendra Modi government would also be looking at carrying out reforms in the different sectors.

The BJP has also included one of the biggest reforms, creating new theatre commands, in its manifesto, underscoring the importance attached to the biggest ever military reform in the country.

The reforms are to be carried out by the Department of Military Affairs, headed by the Chief of Defence Staff.

Polling for the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections will be held on May 13 in 96 constituencies.

Of the 96 Lok Sabha seats, 25 are from Andhra Pradesh, 17 from Telangana, 13 from Uttar Pradesh, 11 from Maharashtra, eight each from Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal, five from Bihar, four each from Jharkhand and Odisha and one from Jammu and Kashmir.

Lok Sabha elections are being held in seven phases till June 1. Polling for three phases has already been concluded. Votes will be counted on June 4.